Traversing fields somewhere between Talking Heads, Can, Gang Gang Dance and Brigitte Fontaine/Art Ensemble of Chicago, EXO-TECH explore the intersections between collective improvisation and pop song composition, influenced as much by modern pop and R&B as it is by free jazz, avant garde improvisation, and film music.

EXO-TECH was formed in February 2016 by Australian vocalist and bandleader Sophia Brous and New Zealand pop innovator Kimbra. After two live performances, the group was invited to be inaugural artists-in-residence at the Red Bull Studios New York, where Brous and Kimbra brought together an exceptional cast of creative minds to create musical worlds, including David Byrne, Questlove, Sean Ono Lennon, Bilal, Caroline Polacheck and Ian Williams (Battles). The EXO-TECH ensemble is made up of an all-star cast of New York session players and experimentalists, inlcuding Sophia Brous, Kimbra, Yuka Honda (Cibo Matto), Stuart D. Bogie (Antibalas, Arcade Fire), Mauro Refosco (Atoms for Peace, Forro in the Dark, RHCP), Jared Samuel (Invisible Familiars), Pete Drungle, Danny Meyer (Chairlift, Julia Holter), Miho Hatori (Cibo Matto, New Optimism), Doug Wieselman (Anthony & the Johnsons, Laurie Anderson), Jeremy Gustin (Star Rover, Albert Hammond, Jr.), Spencer Zahn, Benjamin Lazar Davis (Cuddle Magic, Joan As Police Woman), and Cleek Schrey.